Join the most powerful network in journalism.

Our 11,000 alumni live and work all over the world. They’re at media companies large and small, helping to redefine how news is delivered.

Alumni Events

What Alums Say

Ted Regencia ’12 M.S. on Journalism School Opportunities

Anjuli Sastry ’15 M.S. on Discovering New Paths in Journalism

Join the Network

Alumni Directory

Stay in touch with your classmates and connect with alumni around the world by updating your contact information on the Alumni Community Directory.

Alumni News

Have you written a book? Did your series win an award? Do you have a new job? Tell us and we’ll tell the others through the monthly Alumni E‐Newsletter.

Black Alumni Network

Founded in May 1980 by members of that year’s graduating class, the group has published a monthly newsletter that is sent to 500 alumni and friends in the journalism industry. Readers pay for the newsletter through subscriptions: $25 each year or $45 for two years.

Social Media

Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.

Alumni Resources

Journalism School alumni have access to an assortment of benefits and services including:

  • Ordering transcripts
  • Book and computer discounts
  • Library and database access
  • Cultural discounts
  • Lodging discounts
  • Access to reception and meeting facilities
  • Lifelong learning programs

See the full array of resources offered by the Columbia Alumni Association.

Career Development

If you are looking to update your skills or find a new job, you will find many ongoing resources within the Office of Career Development. The resources for alumni are password protected and only available to Journalism School graduates. They include:

  • JobNews
  • Our resume, multimedia portfolio, social media and cover letter writing guides
  • Recordings of sessions with employers and editors
  • Interviewing tips

To explore these resources, you’ll need your UNI. You can also join and search the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism group on LinkedIn.

Alumni Weekend

Come back to Pulitzer Hall in the spring.

Every year in April or May, alumni return to campus for a weekend of panel discussions on current issues and social events. Check this space for details on Alumni Weekend 2017.

Alumni Board

The Alumni Board is the official link between graduates and the school's faculty, administration and current students. Board members are alumni who are willing to give of their time to help the Alumni Office come up with ways to engage graduates worldwide through programs and services.

See the current board members and volunteer for board committees.

Give Back

As an alum, you can support the future of journalism in many ways:

Mentor a Current Student 

Through the mentor program, we give you an opportunity to help a current student get a handle on different aspects of the industry and form a professional relationship with a working journalist. The program is currently being revised and we will let you know more details in September. 

Hire a Journalism School Graduate 

As an alum of the Journalism School, your achievements build over the years. Many alumni take the opportunity to “pay it forward” as mentors or hiring managers to the next generation. If you are a hiring editor or producer and want to interview Journalism School students for jobs and internships, please contact the Career Development Office, post a listing on our JobNews board or attend our annual Career Expo, the biggest of its kind at any journalism school.

Support the Journalism School

Learn how your donations can extend the mission of the Journalism School.