Alumni Weekend

Alumni weekend header

Save the Date!

Thursday, April 18, 2024 – Saturday, April 20, 2024

While all alumni are invited to take part in the weekend programming, this year we are celebrating the classes of 1969, 1974, 1979, 1984, 1989, 1994, 1999, 2004, 2009, 2014, and 2019.

Stay tuned for more details.

college walk

Making a Gift

Reunion is a special time for graduates to support Columbia Journalism School together as a class. If you are in a position to make a Reunion gift, we hope you will do so in a way that is personally meaningful to you. Participation, in any form, makes all the difference to students, faculty, and the greater Columbia Journalism School community.

All gifts received by June 30, 2024, will be counted in full toward your Class Gift. If you have any questions or are interested in making a planned gift, please contact Cynthia Helton at 212-854-1148 or by email at [email protected].

You can make your gift or pledge here.

Alumni Awards

Headshot of Julie Cohen
Julie Cohen, '89 M.S.

Documentary Director and Producer,
BetterThanFiction Productions & Storyville Films

Alumni Award Honoree

Headshot of Cheryl Devall
Cheryl Devall '82 M.S.

General Manager,
KRVS Public Media

Alumni Award Honoree

Katherine Rowlands '89
Katherine Rowlands, '89 M.S.

Independent Business Owner, Bay City News Service;
Co-Founder, Women Do News

Alumni Award Honoree

Faculty & First Decade Awards

Headshot of LynNell Hancock
LynNell Hancock, '81 M.S.

H. Gordon Garbedian
Professor of Journalism,
Columbia School of Journalism

Thomas headshot
Thomas Brennan, '15

Founder and Executive Director,
The War Horse

Jenisha Watts ,'14

Senior Editor,
The Atlantic

Presented during Alumni Weekend, we are thrilled to announce this year's recipients of the Columbia Journalism School Alumni Awards, in recognition of distinguished careers in journalism, an outstanding single accomplishment in journalism, notable contributions to journalism education, or achievement in related fields.

View the past winners of the Alumni Awards here.