John B. Oakes Award

The John B. Oakes Award for Distinguished Environmental Journalism, which carries a $5,000 prize, is given annually for news reporting that makes an exceptional contribution to the public’s understanding of environmental issues. The award was founded in 1993 by family, friends and colleagues of John B. Oakes (1913-2001), who was an environmental journalism pioneer, the founder of the modern op-ed page, and the editor of the editorial page for the New York Times from 1961 to 1976. It recognizes journalists whose work meets the highest standards of journalistic excellence. #OakesAward

We are no longer accepting entries for the 2024 John B. Oakes Award. The winners will be announced in July.

2023 Oakes Award Winner and Finalists

"Voices from the Roof of the World Season Two,” an international documentary series on climate change produced by Andrew Tkach and directed by nine independent filmmakers from Central and South Asia, has won the 2023 John B. Oakes Award for Distinguished Environmental Journalism.

The two finalists for the 2023 Oakes Award are:

Read the full announcement with judges' citations here.

How to Enter

We are now accepting entries for the 2024 John B. Oakes Award here. Deadline: April 22, 2024 


John Bertram Oakes (1913-2001), the creator of the contemporary op-ed page and the editor who brought conviction and incisiveness to New York Times editorials, was a pioneer of environmental journalism. At a time when no newspapers had environmental reporters and the idea of an environmental beat did not yet exist, Oakes’ editorial page made the environment a prominent topic in the national debate.

John Oakes became an editorial writer for the New York Times in 1949 and was editor of the editorial page from 1961 to 1976. The Times’ Robert D. McFadden has written that, before Oakes took over, the paper’s editorials sounded “more like the advice of the family doctor than the boom of civic conscience.” Oakes reinvigorated the editorial voice, pushing his writers to take strong positions and articulate them with force. He received the George Polk Award in 1966 for bringing to the Times editorial page “a brilliance, an intensity and a perceptiveness” that made it “the most vital and influential journalistic voice in America.”

Oakes conceived the idea for another of his lasting contributions to journalism, the op-ed page, shortly before he became the editorial page editor. Although the concept of a forum for both outside contributors and Times columnists languished for years, caught up in debate within the paper over space and editorial control, the page Oakes eventually created has been adopted by newspapers all over the world. Oakes himself was a frequent contributor to the Times op-ed page until the mid-1990s. In 2000, he received the George Polk Career Award “for his singular journalistic achievements.”

The Oakes Award has always been conferred for feature reporting. Oakes himself, however, spent most of his writing career as an editorialist and essayist. He was a stylist of great eloquence; many of his editorials, such as those on President Kennedy’s assassination and the lunar landing, are classics of the period. Before becoming editorial page editor, Oakes also wrote a monthly environmental column for several years. (The column was his own proposal; when Times editors expressed doubt that readers would have any interest in the environment, he offered to write it for free. It was to become one of the most popular columns in the paper.) Some of Oakes’s favorite environmental subjects included parks and public lands; the “radical, inflationary, economically unsound, and environmentally degrading” policies of Interior Secretary James Watt; and government inaction on “the spread of aerial sewage in the form of acid rain.”

John B. Oakes was a nephew of Adolph Ochs, who became publisher of the New York Times in 1896. Oakes’ father, George Washington Ochs-Oakes, was mayor of Chattanooga, Tennessee, editor of the Philadelphia Ledger, and publisher of Current History magazine. In 1917 he changed his two sons’ surname, and modified his own, out of anger at the German atrocities of World War I.

A Rhodes scholar and the valedictorian of his graduating class at Princeton, John B. Oakes began his life in journalism in 1936 as a reporter for the Trenton Times in New Jersey. The next year he started reporting on politics and writing features for the Washington Post. During World War II he served in Europe as a counterintelligence officer, and for his service received the Bronze Star, the Croix de Guerre, and the Order of the British Empire. After the war he joined the New York Times as editor of Week in Review. He married Margery Hartman in 1945. They had three daughters, Andra, Alison and Cynthia; and a son, John.

Past Winners and Finalists

Board of Judges


Emilia Askari is chair of the John B. Oakes Award Board of Judges. Askari is an environmental journalist and an educator who conducts research at the intersection of news literacy, social entrepreneurship, digital citizenship and games.


Talia Buford is a reporter for ProPublica covering disparities in environmental impacts. She was previously an environment and labor reporter at the Center for Public Integrity and an energy reporter for POLITICO.

Jeff Burnside is an independent journalist who has spent more than 20 years working as an investigative reporter. He was most recently a senior investigative reporter for KOMO 4 News in Seattle.

Susan Goldberg is the president and CEO of the WGBH Educational Foundation, former editor in chief of National Geographic Magazine.

Bernardo Motta, associate professor of Journalism at Roger Williams University, educator and researcher in community-driven, environmental justice, science and investigative journalism.

Deborah Nelson is associate professor of investigative journalism at the University of Maryland. She joined the Philip Merrill faculty in 2006, after five years as the Washington investigations editor for the Los Angeles Times.

Anna Oakes is an audio producer and editor at Hark Audio. She worked previously in Spain, at Revista Contexto and the Association for the Recuperation of Historical Memory. She is the granddaughter of John B. Oakes.

Susanne Rust is an investigative reporter specializing in environmental issues for the Los Angeles Times. Previously, she was the director of Columbia Journalism School's Energy and Environment Reporting Fellowship.

Mark Trahant is editor of Indian Country Today, and a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Trahant has been a professor at the University of North Dakota and the University of Alaska Anchorage and reports and comments on events and trends on Facebook, Twitter (@TrahantReports) and other social media.

Justin Worland, Washington D.C.-based senior correspondent at TIME covering climate change and the intersection of policy, politics and society. 


[email protected]

Sign up for the Columbia Journalism Awards quarterly newsletter to receive information on prize open and close dates, entry requirements, and prize winners. Our newsletter is the best way to stay in the know on all things related to the journalism awards at Columbia University.