News | Page 2 | Columbia Journalism School


Sign-up for the School's admissions newsletter for the latest news and events.

logo over landscape with windmills

Columbia Journalism Review’s New Art Installation 'Flood The News' Puts a Spotlight on the Media’s Coverage of Climate Change

Columbia Journalism Review (CJR), the media industry’s leading press criticism publication, will unveil “Flood the News: Bringing the Climate Change Crisis to the Front Page,” an exhibit in collaboration with renowned visual artist, Joan Wong, at the Foley Gallery in New York City on Tuesday, September 17. The exhibition tackles the media’s coverage of climate change, an issue at the heart of CJR’s Covering Climate Change initiative.

Penelope Muse Abernathy headshot

Author of Groundbreaking Local News Crisis Research, Penelope Muse Abernathy, Named as the 2019 Welles Memorial Prize Winner

Muse Abernathy’s research is being honored by the Knight-Bagehot Advisory Board for its impact on the journalism profession, and its role in raising the alarm and prompting an industry-wide call-to-action about the local news crisis. The Welles Prize is given annually to an alum of the Knight Bagehot Fellowship, now in its 44th year. Muse Abernathy is a graduate of the Fellowship from 1985.

Photo: Godofredo A Vásquez, Houston Chronicle / Staff photographer

Alumni Spotlight: Covering Immigration in the Trump Era

Two weeks ago President Trump tweeted, again, that ICE would conduct raids targeting undocumented immigrants over the weekend. Once again reporters fanned out and prepared to cover the far-reaching implications of such actions, but the raids did not materialize. Lomi Kriel,’11 M.A., is the immigration reporter for the Houston Chronicle. She talks about what it’s like to be on the frontlines of one of the most demanding beats in journalism right now.