Columbia Journalism alumni, faculty and fellows honored with 2024 Pulitzer Prizes

May 07, 2024

Over twenty members of the Columbia Journalism School community have been named finalists and winners of the Pulitzer Prizes. 

With work described as “groundbreaking and ambitious,” this cohort showcases the rigor, ethics and excellence expected of all who come through Pulitzer Hall. Their winning stories investigate vital topics, from the ethics of Supreme Court justices to the lasting effects of the pandemic on public education.

Their “gripping and intensely reported” work is a representation of the Journalism School’s continued championship of great journalism.

The honorees hailing from Columbia Journalism School include: 

Columbia Journalism has also invited several of this year’s winners to be guest speakers, offering students continuing insights into the highest level of journalism. This includes Hannah Dreier of The New York Times, who will give the keynote address at this summer’s graduation ceremony.

A special citation was also given to Greg Tate, a writer and long-time critic for The Village Voice who died in 2021. He was a major force in establishing hip hop as a genre deserving of critical thought and acclaim and was honored with a scholarship founded in his name during the Word: Life conference.

The first Pulitzer Prizes were awarded in 1917 by Columbia Journalism School. Columbia University now confers the honor on the recommendation of the Pulitzer Prize Board.

For more information on this year’s Prize winners and finalists in Journalism, Books, Drama and Music, please visit the Prize Winner section of to find biographical information and read winning & nominated work in Journalism.

Last updated on May 8, 2024.