Jelani Cobb Elected to the American Academy of Arts & Sciences

April 19, 2023

Jelani Cobb, Dean of Columbia Journalism School, has been elected to the American Academy of Arts & Sciences.  

Dean Cobb joins some of the world’s most accomplished leaders from academia, the arts, public policy, and research in one of the nation’s most prestigious honorary societies and independent research centers. 

When announcing this year’s 269 newly elected members, Academy President David W. Oxtoby said, “With the election of these members, the Academy is honoring excellence, innovation, and leadership and recognizing a broad array of stellar accomplishments. We hope every new member celebrates this achievement and joins our work advancing the common good.”

The Academy counts among its members Nicholas Lemann (elected in 2010), and President Lee C. Bollinger (elected in 1992).

The Class of 2023 includes four other Columbia professors. They are Lila Abu-Lughod, Joseph L. Buttenwieser Professor of Social Science in the Department of Anthropology; Franklin D. Constantini, professor of genetics and development; Sankar Ghosh, chairman and Silverstein and Hutt Family Professor in the Department of Microbiology & Immunology; and Gillian E. Metzger, Harlan Fiske Stone Professor of Constitutional Law.

Read the full list of Academy’s newest members here

Founded in 1780, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences honors excellence and convenes leaders from every field of human endeavor to examine new ideas, address issues of importance to the nation and the world, and work together “to cultivate every art and science which may tend to advance the interest, honor, dignity, and happiness of a free, independent, and virtuous people."