The WERT Global Prize | Columbia Journalism School

The WERT Global Prize

The WERT Global Prize honors excellence in business journalism by a woman for work that fosters a greater understanding of global business and economics.

About the Prize


In honor of the 45th anniversary of the Women’s Economic Round Table, we are excited to announce that the 2023 recipient of the WERT Global Prize will receive $4,500, up from the usual $2,000 award. Thanks to the Muriel F. Siebert Foundation for its generous donation to celebrate WERT's anniversary and business journalism.


The Women's Economic Round Table was founded in 1978 by Dr. Amelia Augustus and Maria Rolfe. The WERT Global Prize was established in 2018 with funding by a bequest from WERT and has received support from the Siebert Foundation and the global management consulting firm McKinsey & Company. 


The 2023 WERT Global Prize winner will be announced in October.

Materials Needed to Enter

  • One to five pieces of business reporting uploaded as PDFs or as links.
  • Transcripts for radio and video entries.
  • A brief cover letter that describes why you are submitting the work and that includes a short biography of the nominee.
  • A $50 non-refundable entry fee.


Please keep in mind:


  • A single article or a series of articles may be submitted. A series must be designated as such by the news organization when it is published. A regular column may also be submitted as a series.
  • If submitting a series, up to five articles can be included.
  • Submissions must be published in English. Submissions by non-U.S. journalists are accepted. 

  • Self-nominations are accepted.

  • Books, films and self-published works are not eligible.
  • All entries must have appeared between January 1, 2022 and June 30, 2023. 

How To Enter

2022 WERT Prize Winner

head shot of olivia carville

Past Winners

2021: Dana Mattioli, The Wall Street Journal, for “How Amazon Wins: By Steamrolling Rivals and Partners," on the company’s use of data and inside information to undersell competitors. 

2020: Erika Fry, Fortune, for "Epidemic of Fear," on the tragic course of a vaccine against dengue fever.

2019: Lisa Girion, Reuters, for “Powder Keg," an investigation into Johnson and Johnson’s extensive knowledge of the existence of asbestos in its baby powder. 


Contact Amy Singer, deputy director, Knight-Bagehot Fellowship.