Columbia Journalism School Announces 2022 Sulzberger Executive Leadership Program Fellows

December 09, 2021

Columbia Journalism School announced today the 24 Sulzberger Executive Leadership Program fellows for the 2022-23 academic year. The fellows represent emerging leaders at a wide range of news organizations, including media start-ups, nonprofit newsrooms, and large international publications.

The 2022 Sulzberger Fellows are:

  • Jay Allred - President, Richland Source
  • Shameel Arafin - Chief Product Officer, The Venetoulis Institute for Local Journalism
  • Kyra Darnton - President & Executive Producer, Retro Report
  • Adeshina Emmanuel - Editor-in-Chief, Injustice Watch (Google News Initiative Scholarship)
  • Tyson Evans - Senior Product Manager, The New York Times
  • Rachel Fishman Feddersen - CEO & Publisher, the Forward
  • Hidenaka Kato - Managing Director, Nikkei Europe Ltd., Nikkei Inc.
  • Amy King - Creative Director & Deputy Managing Editor, Los Angeles Times
  • Rafael Lama-Bonilla - Deputy Director & Managing Editor, El Nuevo Día / GFR Media (Google News Initiative Scholarship)
  • Chad Lorenz - Editor-in-Chief, Votebeat, a project of Chalkbeat (American Journalism Project Sponsorship)
  • Christiane Mack - Chief Content Operations Officer, Condé Nast
  • Jody Mak - Senior Product Manager - Habit, The Atlantic
  • Russell Midori - President & Founder, Military Veterans in Journalism (Knight Foundation Sponsorship)
  • Shawn Mooring - Program Director, Lenfest Institute for Journalism
  • Melissa Parsons - Executive Producer, Today All Day, NBC NEWS
  • Garry Pierre-Pierre - Founder & Publisher, The Haitian Times (Google News Initiative Scholarship)
  • Andrew Ramsammy - Chief Content & Collaboration Officer, Local Media Association (Knight Foundation Sponsorship)
  • Monica Richardson - Executive Editor, Miami Herald/El Nuevo Herald & McClatchy Florida Regional Editor, McClatchy Co. (Google News Initiative Scholarship)
  • Jason Saldanha - Chief of Business Development and Content, PRX
  • Dalit Shalom - Lead Product Designer, The New York Times
  • Freek Staps - Editor-in-Chief, ANP (Algemeen Nederlands Persbureau)
  • Millie Tran - VP, Content Strategy & Growth, Condé Nast
  • Elite Truong - Director of Strategic Initiatives, The Washington Post
  • Jia Lynn Yang - National Editor, The New York Times

The journey for the 2022 Sulzberger Fellows will begin on January 3 with two intensive weeks at Columbia Journalism School. They will then be supported virtually as they accelerate their projects over 18 weeks back at their organizations before returning for a final week at Columbia on May 23.

“I am excited to assemble such an accomplished group of leaders in journalism and honored to begin this journey with them to implement these strategic projects,” said Director Corey Ford. “I can’t wait to see how the intentional serendipity of bringing together these innovators will impact these leaders, their organizations and the journalism industry as a whole.” 

Scroll through the gallery below to learn more about the 2022 Sulzberger Fellows and their projects:

Applications for the 2023 class are now open. To learn more, visit

Established in 2005, the Sulzberger Executive Leadership Program is designed to train leaders of the world’s most respected news organizations and promising media start-ups to lead innovation and solve strategic business challenges in a time of rapid transformation, uncertainty and opportunity.