Tarin Almanzar is Columbia Journalism School’s New Associate Dean of Admissions and Financial Aid | Columbia Journalism School
Tarin Almanzar

Tarin Almanzar is Columbia Journalism School’s New Associate Dean of Admissions and Financial Aid

Columbia Journalism School is proud to announce that Tarin Almanzar has been named the new Associate Dean of Admissions and Financial Aid. For nearly 14 years, Almanzar has served as a critical part of the admissions team at the graduate school and as a longstanding official at the university in student financial planning.  

“Tarin is well known in the Journalism School and across campus,” said Steve Coll, Dean of Columbia Journalism School and Henry R. Luce Professor of Journalism. “She has been a warm, thoughtful mentor of students and partner to the faculty since she arrived here in 2008.” 

Almanzar previously was the Associate Director of Student Financial Planning at Columbia University and Assistant Director of Admissions and Financial Aid at Columbia’s Mailman School of Public Health.

Almanzar’s predecessor, Christine Souders, retired from her job as Associate Dean of Admissions this fall, giving her colleague an enthusiastic endorsement. 

“Tarin is a recognized university leader in admissions and financial aid, whose dedication to the needs and best interests of our students, faculty and staff, will ensure the continued high standards for excellence, access and opportunity that we all expect of Columbia Journalism School,” Souders said. 

Tarin received her bachelor's degree in psychology from Pace University She holds two master's degrees from Columbia, one in higher and postsecondary education and the other in organizational psychology. 

​​“I am extremely excited to be stepping into this role to continue being part of this extraordinary community,” Almanzar said. “I am inspired each day by the determination and diverse talents of our students, faculty and staff, and I look forward to working with them all.”

About Columbia Journalism School

For more than a century, the Columbia Journalism School has been preparing journalists in programs that stress academic rigor, ethics, journalistic inquiry and professional practice. Founded with a gift from Joseph Pulitzer, the school opened in 1912 and offers Master of Science, Master of Arts, Master of Science in Data Journalism, a joint Master of Science degree in Computer Science and Journalism, The Knight-Bagehot Fellowship in Economics and Business Journalism and a Doctor of Philosophy in Communications. It houses the Columbia Journalism Review, the Brown Institute for Media Innovation, The Tow Center for Digital Journalism, The Ira A. Lipman Center for Journalism and Civil and Human Rights, The Simon and June Li Center for Global Journalism, the Craig Newmark Center for Journalism Ethics and Security, and the Dart Center for Journalism and Trauma. The school also administers many of the leading journalism awards, including the Alfred I. duPont-Columbia University Awards, the Maria Moors Cabot Prizes, the John Chancellor Award, the John B. Oakes Award for Distinguished Environmental Journalism, Dart Awards for Excellence in Coverage of Trauma, Paul Tobenkin Memorial Award, the Mike Berger Awards and the WERT Prize for Women Business Journalists. Journalism.columbia.edu.