Ta-Nehisi Coates and David Fahrenthold to Be Recognized at Columbia’s Journalism School Graduation and Journalism Day Ceremonies

Ta-Nehisi Coates has been named the winner of the Columbia Journalism Award. Coates and David Fahrenthold, this year’s Pringle Lecturer, will address the 2017 Journalism School graduation class this spring. Coates and Fahrenthold join a rich graduation tradition and a long list of notable past winners who will celebrate the students’ achievements at the school. 
“At a time when American journalism is the subject of outrageous attacks, the work of Ta-Nehisi and David exemplify its strength and indispensible role in our democracy,” said Dean Steve Coll. “I’m thrilled that the faculty of the graduate school voted them these honors and that our graduates will have the opportunity to hear their reflections and advice.”
Coates will receive the school’s highest honor for his exceptional journalism in the public interest. He is one of the most original and perceptive black voices today and author of two memoirs including, “Between the World and Me,” a New York Times best-seller. His articles as The Atlantic’s national correspondent reignited a nationwide conversation about African-American experience in a system of institutionalized racism that has robbed them of wealth and success for generations. Coates’s long list of accomplishments include receiving a National Book Award in 2015, a George Polk Award for Commentary in 2014, and the 2013 Hillman Prize for Opinion and Analysis Journalism. He has also been named one of TIME Magazine’s 100 Most Influential People. 
Fahrenthold will be recognized with the 2017 Henry Pringle Lecture for his outstanding coverage of politics and Washington. He is known for breaking the biggest and most talked about stories of the 2016 presidential campaign, including extensive reporting about Donald Trump’s foundation and charitable giving claims.  He was also behind the release of Trump’s infamous Access Hollywood video with Billy Bush where he bragged about groping women. Fahrenthold is also the recipient of the 2017 Robin Toner Award for Excellence in Political Journalism.  He has worked for the Post for the last 17 years and was recently awarded the publication’s inaugural Ben Bradlee Prize, in honor of his relentless pursuit of the truth.  
"I'm thrilled to be part of the big day at such a hallowed institution of journalism, and to share what I learned from covering last year's campaign and the new administration,” said David Fahrenthold, reporter for The Washington Post.
The ceremonies will be held on May 16 and 17. For program schedule and more details about Graduation and Journalism Day, visit: https://journalism.columbia.edu/graduation
About Columbia Journalism School
For more than a century, the school has been preparing journalists in programs that stress academic rigor, ethics, journalistic inquiry and professional practice. Founded with a gift from Joseph Pulitzer, the school opened its doors in 1912 and offers Masters of Science, Masters of Arts, a joint Master of Science degree in Computer Science and Journalism, and Doctor of Philosophy in Communications. The school also administers many of the leading journalism awards, including the Alfred I. DuPont-Columbia University Awards, the Maria Cabot Prizes, the John Chancellor Award, The John B. Oakes Award for Distinguished Environmental Journalism, Dart Awards for Excellence in Coverage of Trauma, Paul Tobenkin Memorial Award, and the Mike Berger Award. www.journalism.columbia.edu
Chantal De Soto
Communications Manager
Columbia Journalism School