Christopher J. Welles Memorial Prize | Columbia Journalism School

Christopher J. Welles Memorial Prize

The Welles Prize honors the memory of Christopher J. Welles, a former director of the Knight-Bagehot Fellowship, who was considered “the premier business writer” from the 1960s to the 1980s for his penetrating accounts of “shenanigans, abuses and downfalls.” It is awarded annually for an outstanding business or financial story or series by a Knight-Bagehot alum.

2020 Winner

Mary Williams Walsh headshot

The Knight-Bagehot Fellowship in Economics and Business at Columbia Journalism School named Mary Williams Walsh, financial reporter at The New York Times, the 2020 Christopher J. Welles Memorial Prize, for her impressive body of reporting at the intersection of finance, public policy and the aging population, and for recent work assessing the impact of COVID-19 on state budgets, public pensions, debt and corporate bankruptcies