Event Recap: 2019 Graduation and Journalism Day | Columbia Journalism School

Event Recap: 2019 Graduation and Journalism Day

Congratulations once again to the Columbia Journalism School Class of 2019. Both Journalism Day and Graduation this year were replete with beautiful weather and inspiring words from our speakers and award winners. Here, you will find recordings of this year's Journalism Day speakers as well as the full 2019 graduation ceremony featuring keynote by Columbia Journalism Award winner Maria Ressa and a speech by valedictorian Lauren Harris.

Graduation Ceremony Featuring Keynote by Maria Ressa

Dean Steve Coll awarded Maria Ressa with the Columbia Journalism School Award during the graduation ceremony. Ressa was recognized by the faculty “for the depth and quality of her work, as well as her courage and persistence in the field.” She is the Founder and CEO of Rappler, an online news site in the Philippines, and the winner of awards including the Golden Pen of Freedom Award from the World Association of Newspapers and News Publishers (WAN-INFRA), the Knight International Journalism Award of the International Center for Journalists and the Gwen Ifill Press Freedom Award of the Committee to Protect Journalists.

Ressa also delivered the ceremony’s keynote speech, in which she urged graduates to be courageous in the face of a “broken” information ecosystem and to lead the way in finding a global solution combining journalism and technology.

Read more: Maria Ressa, Investigative Journalist and CEO of Rappler, To Receive The Columbia Journalism Award

Journalism Day: Pringle Lecture by Margaret Sullivan

The Washington Post’s Margaret Sullivan was selected as the 2019 Pringle Lecturer, delivering the lecture during the Journalism Day ceremony on May 21, 2019.

Named for Henry F. Pringle, a J-School professor in the 1930s, the award is made annually by faculty to an outstanding journalist covering politics and whose work will inspire the next generation. Sullivan is The Washington Post's media columnist. She was previously the fifth public editor of The New York Times and the first woman to hold the position.

Read more: Margaret Sullivan of The Washington Post To Deliver Annual Pringle Lecture on Commencement Week

Journalism Day: 2019 Berger and Tobenkin Award Winners

The Washington Post's Sidney Trent accepted the Meyer Berger Award on behalf of her colleague Terrence McCoy (’12 M.A. Politics) for his series on Americans who were challenged in deeply personal ways by some of the most significant political and social issues of the day, including the opioid crisis and immigration.  Named for the late New York Times reporter Meyer “Mike” Berger, the Berger Award is awarded to a reporter for an outstanding example of in­-depth, human interest reporting.

Ginger Thompson, Michael Grabell and Topher Sanders of ProPublica were awarded the 2019 Tobenkin Award for their series “Zero Tolerance,” which focused on the experiences  and voices  of children who were separated from their parents after crossing the Mexico-U.S. border due to the Trump Administration’s family separation policy. The Paul Tobenkin Memorial Award honors the late New York Herald Tribune reporter and recognizes outstanding achievements in reporting on racial or religious hatred, intolerance or discrimination in the United States. 

Read more: Announcing the 2019 Winners of the Mike Berger Award & Paul Tobenkin Award