Columbia Journalism School Announces 2021 Sulzberger Executive Leadership Program Fellows | Columbia Journalism School

Columbia Journalism School Announces 2021 Sulzberger Executive Leadership Program Fellows

Columbia Journalism School announced today 20 Sulzberger Executive Leadership Program fellows for the 2021-2022 academic year. The fellows represent emerging leaders at a wide range of news organizations, including media start-ups, nonprofit newsrooms and large international publications.

The 2021 Sulzberger Fellows are:

  • Ernesto Aguilar - Executive Director, National Federation of Community Broadcasters (Google News Initiative Scholarship)
  • Lawrence Bartley - Director of News Inside, The Marshall Project (Google News Initiative Scholarship)
  • Tracy Brown - Chief Content Officer, Chicago Public Media / WBEZ (Gordon Gray Jr. Scholarship)
  • Claudio E. Cabrera - Deputy Audience Director, The New York Times
  • Bene Cipolla - Publisher, Chalkbeat
  • Anne Galloway - Founder & Executive Director, VTDigger
  • Ha-Hoa Hamano - Principal Product Manager of NPR One Experience, NPR (Google News Initiative Scholarship)
  • Charo Henríquez - Editor, Newsroom Development & Support, The New York Times
  • Katie Hinman - Executive Producer, Special Programming, CNN
  • Sean Jordan - Senior Manager, News & Live Content Partnerships, Hulu
  • Hidenaka Kato - Managing Director, Nikkei Europe Ltd.
  • Christopher Kirkpatrick - Deputy Director, Content Development, Consumer Reports
  • Samantha McCann - Chief Operating Officer, Solutions Journalism Network
  • Akoto Ofori-Atta - Cofounder & Chief Audience Officer, Capital B (Google News Initiative Scholarship)
  • Tina Pamintuan - General Manager, KALW Public Media (Gordon Gray Jr. Scholarship)
  • Xanthe Scharff - Cofounder &  CEO, The Fuller Project
  • Moira Shourie - Executive Director, Zócalo Public Square
  • Jermaine Spradley - Senior Vice-President, Vox Media
  • Mary Margaret White - CEO, Mississippi Today
  • Kimi Yoshino - Managing Editor, Los Angeles Times

"The journalism industry is under threat — politically, culturally and economically," said Director Corey Ford. "Now, more than ever, we need leaders who can guide journalism to a robust and sustainable future. We believe that these fellows will be those leaders."

Fellows will use the 21-week program focused on innovation and experiential learning to launch, accelerate and implement a strategic project that is central to the mission of their organization.  

Scroll through the gallery below to learn more about the 2021 Sulzberger Fellows and their projects:


Established in 2005 with an endowment by the Sulzberger family that served as a birthday gift to the legendary New York Times publisher Arthur Ochs “Punch” Sulzberger, the Sulzberger Executive Leadership Program is designed to train leaders of the world’s most respected news organizations and promising media start-ups to lead innovation and solve strategic business challenges in a time of rapid transformation, uncertainty and opportunity. 

Applications for the 2022 cohort are open now. To learn more and apply, visit

About Columbia Journalism School
For more than a century, the Columbia Journalism School has been preparing journalists in programs that stress academic rigor, ethics, journalistic inquiry, and professional practice. Founded with a gift from Joseph Pulitzer, the school opened in 1912 and offers a Master of Science, Master of Arts, Master of Science in Data Journalism, a joint Master of Science degree in Computer Science and Journalism, The Knight-Bagehot Fellowship in Economics and Business Journalism and a Doctor of Philosophy in Communications. It houses the Columbia Journalism Review, the Brown Institute for Media Innovation, The Tow Center for Digital Journalism, The Ira A. Lipman Center for Journalism and Civil and Human Rights, and the Dart Center for Journalism and Trauma. In addition to the Pulitzer Prizes, the school administers many other leading journalism awards, including the Alfred I. duPont-Columbia University Awards, the Maria Moors Cabot Prizes, the John Chancellor Award, the John B. Oakes Award for Distinguished Environmental Journalism, Dart Awards for Excellence in Coverage of Trauma, the Paul Tobenkin Memorial Award, the Mike Berger Awards and the WERT Prize for Women Business Journalists.