Columbia Journalism Announces New Prize Honoring Women In Business Journalism | School of Journalism
WERT Prize for Women in Journalism

Columbia Journalism Announces New Prize Honoring Women In Business Journalism

The Knight-Bagehot Fellowships in Economics and Business at Columbia Journalism School announced the WERT Prize, the school’s first prize honoring women who produce business reporting that fosters a greater understanding of global business.

Details of the prize were unveiled at the Knight-Bagehot’s 43rd Anniversary gala, where speakers included A.G. Sulzberger, publisher of The New York Times, Kara Swisher, co-founder of Recode, Jessica Lessin, editor in-chief of The Information, and Steve Coll, Dean of Columbia Journalism School.

“We’re excited to launch this global prize, which we hope will inspire more women journalists around the world to pursue careers in business journalism,” said Raju Narisetti, director of Knight-Bagehot Fellowships in Economics and Business Journalism. “At its core, the Knight-Bagehot program is designed to strengthen the ability of journalists to do more sophisticated business journalism and this prize underscores our commitment to advancing diversity in business and economics reporting.”

According to a 2017 report by the Women’s Media Center, women account for just 39% of business and economic stories.  The WERT prize, endowed by The Women’s Economic Round Table, will celebrate distinguished and deeply reported business stories by a woman. The recipient of the prize will receive $2,000 for published work in English, across platforms – print, radio, broadcast and digital. 

The WERT Prize jury will be comprised of nine senior news leaders from top tier business publications and chaired by Gillian Tett, U.S. Managing Editor, The Financial Times. Other jury members include Rebecca Blumenstein, Deputy Managing Editor, The New York Times; Stephanie Mehta, Editor-in-Chief, Fast Company; Barkha Dutt, TV anchor and op-ed columnist, The Washington Post; Michelle Holmes, Head of Partnerships, Alabama Media Group, Advance Publications; Kevin Delaney, Editor-in-Chief and Co-President, Quartz; Sandy Sugawara, Deputy Director, Voice of America; Kimi Yoshino, Deputy Managing Editor, The Los Angeles Times; Raju Narisetti, Director, Knight-Bagehot Fellowships and Professor of Professional Practice, Columbia Journalism School.

In 2019, the WERT Prize honorarium will be $4,000, thanks to a one-time grant from the Muriel Siebert Foundation, to celebrate the 40th anniversary of the Women’s Economic Round Table, which was founded in 1988 by Dr. Amelia Augustus and Maria Rolfe.

WERT Prize recipients will join a distinguished group of Columbia Journalism Prizes winners producing ground-breaking investigative work covering the most important issues in politics, environment, race, civil rights and other human interest stories.  Recent Columbia Journalism Prizes alumni include journalists such as Dan Balz, the late Gwen Ifill, Nikole Hannah-Jones, Ava DuVernay, Michael Barbaro and Zoe Chace to name a few.

Those who wish to enter a nomination must do so by February 15, 2019 for journalism published in 2018. The prize winner will be announced in May. For more information on how to enter, jurors and required materials visit:

The Knight-Bagehot Fellowship in Economics and Business Journalism offers qualified journalists the opportunity to enhance their understanding and knowledge of business, economics, finance and technology, as well as gain a strong understanding of the business of journalism itself, in a yearlong, full-time program administered by the Journalism School. In scope and depth, it is the most comprehensive and academically rigorous journalism fellowship in the world. 

The Knight-Bagehot Fellowship runs during Columbia’s academic year from mid-August through May and accepts up to 10 Fellows each year. Each Fellow receives free tuition, plus an annual stipend to offset living expenses in New York City and healthcare. 

For more than a century, the Columbia Journalism School has been preparing journalists in programs that stress academic rigor, ethics, journalistic inquiry and professional practice. Founded with a gift from Joseph Pulitzer, the school opened in 1912 and offers Master of Science, Master of Arts, Master of Science in Data Journalism, a joint Master of Science degree in Computer Science and Journalism, The Knight-Bagehot Fellowship in Economics and Business Journalism and a Doctor of Philosophy in Communications.  It houses the Columbia Journalism Review, the Brown Institute for Media Innovation, The Tow Center for Digital Journalism, The Ira A. Lipman Center for Journalism and Civil and Human Rights and the Dart Center for Journalism and Trauma. The school also administers many of the leading journalism awards, including the Alfred I. DuPont-Columbia University Awards, the Maria Moors Cabot Prizes, the John Chancellor Award, the John B. Oakes Award for Distinguished Environmental Journalism, Dart Awards for Excellence in Coverage of Trauma, Paul Tobenkin Memorial Award, and the Mike Berger Awards.

Press Contact:
Chantal De Soto
Communications Manager