Alumni Board | Columbia Journalism School

Alumni Board

Rex Smith headshot

Dear fellow alumni,

For many of us, the time we spent at the j-school was transformative. The skills we learned, the principles we absorbed, the connections we forged – all that, and more, made Columbia Journalism School a singular experience in our lives. Your alumni board is committed to helping you sustain a connection to that experience. We’re a diverse group representing varied fields of work; we span the globe and the last five decades of j-school classes.

If you’d like to help by joining one of our committees, please let one of us know. Since we’re also here to provide you a place to share your thoughts about the school and its mission, please keep in touch. And if you can do anything to help give others the opportunity that we had to attend the world’s greatest journalism school, please do so. 

We encourage you to be an active part of our alumni network.


Rex Smith ’80

Alumni Board Chair


Rex Smith '80, editor and vice president, Albany Times Union, Albany

Vice Chair

Andrew Seaman '11, Editorial, LinkedIn, New York

Other Members

Jessica Baldwin ’88, freelance journalist, London

Lauren Betesh '13, The Hive, Vanity Fair, New York

Elena Bowes '89, freelance culture and travel writer, London 

Heather Cabot '93, author, former television correspondent and anchor, New York

Richard Chacón '93, executive director, news content, WBUR, Boston

Rhonda Colvin '13 M.A., video planning editor, The Washington Post, Washington D.C.

Vladimir Duthiers ’11, CBS News correspondent, New York

Kathy Gest '70, chair, National Press Foundation; public affairs strategist, Washington D.C.

Sophie Guité ’11 Ph.D., portfolio specialist, Morgan Stanley Investment Management, New York

Linda Himelstein '87, writer/documentary filmmaker, San Francisco

Rishi Iyengar ’14, India Editor, CNNMoney, Delhi, India

Anup Kaphle ’08, Editor-in-Chief, The Kathmandu Post, Katmandu, Nepal

Lila LaHood ’98, publisher, the San Francisco Public Press, San Francisco

Daniel Matamala ’12 M.A. Politics, anchor, CNN Chile. Santiago, Chile

Darren McDermott '92, partner, Brunswick Group, former Wall Street Journal reporter and bureau chief, New York

Tesfaye Negussie ‘08, producer and co-host; ESPN podcast, Connecticut

Andy Reinhardt ’88, Bloomberg, London


Volunteer for a Committee

The Alumni Board welcomes your interest in serving on our various committees:

  • Admissions assist with student recruitment
  • Development find ways to fire up the Annual Fund
  • Pathways for alumni transitioning to other careers or no longer in journalism
  • J‐Ten reach out to the 10 most recent graduated classes
  • Communications help the School reach alumni more effectively
  • International connect with international alumni

If you would like to volunteer, e-mail us.